Leigh Nelson-Edwards of Detroit Lakes, Joseph Ferriero of Morris, and Joyce Manning of Breckenridge Join Lake Region Arts Council Board

FERGUS FALLS, MINN, October 10, 2017- Lake Region Arts Council welcomes Leigh Nelson-Edwards of Becker County, Joseph Ferriero of Stevens County, and Joyce Manning of Wilkin County to serve on the Board of Directors.

Leigh Nelson-Edwards has a B.S. in Design Technology, from Bemidji State University, and a minor in Visual Arts. Her creative nature is expressed creating art in her spare time, and within her current role by designing 4-H youth programs that incorporate the arts. Serving on the board connects Nelson-Edwards to other creative people and her hope is to “make art a more prominent part of the landscape”.

With a B.A. in acting from the Montclair State University and a M. Ed from Seton Hall University, Joseph Ferriero brings a mindset of large city living to rural areas, believing that art is important for all communities. Ferriero was a nominee for a Tony® Award for the Best Book of a Musical: Lysistrata Jones, a Papermill Rising Star Award Nomination, a Helen Hayes Metro Theatre Award Nomination, and others. He is currently is serving as Executive Director and Founder of Plays in Morris and Musical/Theater Director with Morris Area Public Schools, writing a high school version of the show Lysistata Jones: Varsity Edition.

Award winning Music Teacher, Joyce Manning holds a BA in Music Education from Concordia College, Moorhead and has done Graduate work in Vocal Music Education at Arizona State University, Tempe. Manning served as Music Educator in several schools in Minnesota, Wisconsin and Arizona, privately taught piano and voice, and worked with many organizations to perform, teach, and govern national and state youth music initiatives. Manning states “It is important for all members of society to create and enjoy music without being passive listeners.”

LRAC has an additional Board opening in Douglas County. To apply contact Maxine Adams at directorlrac@gmail.com. The LRAC’s Board of Directors serves up to two, three-year terms. The Board consists of two representatives from each of LRAC’s nine counties served.

Lake Region Arts Council is one of Minnesota’s eleven Regional Arts Councils. LRAC’s mission is to encourage and support the arts throughout west central Minnesota (Region 4), specifically serving the counties of Becker, Clay, Douglas, Grant, Otter Tail, Pope, Stevens, Traverse and Wilkin. For further information, visit our website at LRAC4.org, or call LRAC toll free at 1-800-262-2787.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login