Franson, Minnesota House Take Action on Avian Flu Outbreak

The Minnesota House of Representatives declared an urgency, suspending the rules on Thursday, April 17, to take up legislation (HF 2225) providing emergency funds to the Department of Agriculture and Board of Animal Health in order to better prevent and respond to the avian influenza outbreak that has devastated Minnesota turkey flocks. The House of Representatives voted unanimously in favor of this measure.

To date, 14 counties in Minnesota have been affected by avian influenza including Ottertail, Roseau, Kandiyohi, Stearns, Cottonwood, Lac Qui Parle, Le Sueur, Lyon, Meeker, Nobles, Pope, Redwood, Swift and Watonwan.

“As vice-chair of the Agriculture Policy Committee, I continue to closely monitor the avian flu outbreak and have been visiting with officials and processors in our area to work towards solutions that will stop its spread,” said Franson. “Turkey producers in Otter Tail County and across Minnesota are in dire need of assistance in containing this outbreak. That is why I am encouraged by the House’s action to suspend the rules and allocate funds to help with this crisis facing our state’s turkey industry.”

The House Agriculture Finance and Policy Committees held a joint hearing Thursday morning to

receive an update on the avian influenza response and management.


You must be logged in to post a comment Login